Beauty Bullseye: Summer cosmetics picks

So far I haven’t really posted about cosmetic products specifically, only about my love for them. So I thought my summer product picks would be a good place to start. I change-up my beauty routine in the warmer months, just like I have movies, music, and books that I only read, listen to, or watch, depending on the season, I also have certain products that I use during the summer exclusively (unless I choose to break my own rules which I do all the time).

Let’s start with a summer staple, the blotting paper. I have only recently re-discovered these guys after forgetting about them after high-school. Summer means sweat, which means shine. Sometimes shine looks amazing and dewy, and other times it  makes you look hot, and not in a good way, so these are a nice little solution, and also very affordable.

(Clean & Clear Oil Absorbing Sheets $6.00 for 50)

Sticking to the realm of fighting off sweat (accidental pun), here is one of my summer splurges, Lush dusting powder. Lush makes a variety of wonderful dusting powders, as well as other all-natural products, but this one might smell the best.  Dust it on after the shower and the clean, natural, scent of cocoa butter and vanilla will last all day, very much worth the price.

(Lush Silky Underwear Dusting Powder $11.95)

So, after you’ve gotten out of the shower and dusted yourself off with powder, you might want to moisturize that skin. I’m sure there are lots of very expensive, fancy, body moisturizers out there, but I have no money, so I like this one that i get at the drug store which smells great and lasts forever. It also does a very good job of keeping legs and body soft, while smelling lovely. Also, despite being a Johnson’s product it doesn’t smell like baby oil, more like strawberries.

(Johnson’s 24 Hour Lotion $5.99)

I have sensitive skin, so I can only use certain moisturizers on my face, my go-to brand is Clinique, because it’s gentle and hypoallergenic. My new favorite product is their Even Better Skin Tone Correcting Moisturizer, which focuses on lightening brown spots from prior sun damage. I never listened to my mother when she told me to wear sunscreen when I was younger, so I was so happy to find this product which moisturizes, corrects skin discoloration, and has the added bonus of SPF 20 for sun protection.

(Even Better Skin Tone Correcting Moisturizer SPF 20 $42.50)

Moving on to the issue of bronzer/self tanner, I have long given up pretending I am anything but pale, but in the process I have tried many bronzing products. I must say as far as self-tanner goes, I haven’t found any oh-my-gosh amazing product. Everything streaks, blotches, or both. Even the lightest of formulas leave me looking zebra-like and consequently more embarrassed to show my skin. I do keep one tanning product around and that is Clarins Self Tanning Gel, I don’t use much of it, but I’m sure those of you with darker skin than mine (i.e. everyone) could put this product to even better use. However, I do like to dab it on my face in the summer, it gives a nice, natural, glow without looking too orange.

(Clarins Self-Tanning Instant Gel, 4.4 oz. $32.50)

For Fall and winter I like a rosy cheek, but in the summer I like things a little bit peachy. My sister gave me this Coralista blush from Benefit because her skin is even more sensitive than mine, and the scent is also very strong. It didn’t bother my skin at all, and I actually love the golden peach color it leaves on my cheeks, it’s very summery, I also happen to like the smell, although it’s perfumy. It comes with a little brush, but it’s cheaply made and the hairs fall out, so I would recommend using this with a normal blush brush.

(Benefit CORALista Blush $28)

I am so sick of hearing how Chanel always comes up with the hottest nail colors of the season when everyone knows it’s OPI and Essie who come out with the same color months in advance at one-third of the price. This season Chanel has delivered Nouvelle Vague, which looks very similar to one of my favorite colors, Greenport, from Essie’s summer line last year, only with a bit more shimmer. I’m happy that greens and blues on nails have gained popularity, it’s just fun and beachy for summer.

(Essie nail Polish in Greenport, $8)

I spend half the summer battling with my hair, which like the Grinch’s heart, grows three sizes each day. While in the winter I might try to tame my waves occasionally, in the summer I just give up and embrace the wildness. I have found that Fekkai’s Tousled Wave Spray helps encourage the crazy waviness that summer humidity can bring, while still keeping frizz to a minimum and smelling great.

(Frederic Fekkai Coiff Oceanique Tousled Wave Spray $23)

I’ve saved the best for last. These new lip stains from Tarte are my winner for summer. I have looked for something like these for a while, and was very happy to find them. I love lipstick, but I’m not a lipstick person, mostly because I’m lazy and forget to reapply it. These new stains go on like a lipstick, look glossy, and then stay on like a stain. They’re also minty and cute. The stains go on bright, which I like, and can be layered for an even brighter look. They’re on the pricey side, and I feel guilty for having two of them, but for a really great product, I have no regrets. I’ve been trying to get my hands on the Enchanted color for a while, but it’s always sold out everywhere. I have the Amused (bright pink) and the Lust (bright red) and I love them both!

(Tarte Natural Lip Stain with LipSurgence™ Technology $23 each)

So there you have it, that’s what I’ll be slathering on myself this summer. What are you guys splurging (or not splurging) on this year? I would love to hear what products help you fight the frizz and humidity, and keep you happy during the summer months, so let me know!

13 Comments

Filed under cosmetics

13 responses to “Beauty Bullseye: Summer cosmetics picks

  1. lizzy

    this is what i’m talking about! you’re everyone’s beauty guru already, so its even better to have it in writing and with pictures so i won’t forget. and i LOVE your illustrations with the images! LOVE!!!

  2. haren

    Great, practical advice on how to be beautiful without spending a fortune. We need that in these tough times!

  3. skz

    Hi Justine, this post couldn’t have come at a better time. I literally spent 3 hours last night glued to Sephora’s website, scanning through products and reviewers’ comments. I had started looking at just a few products (to find a new cleanser to try) but then once I started clicking to moisturizers, sun protection, treatments, and so on, I couldn’t stop myself. I was hooked on looking at all those products. I was superbly EXHAUSTED when bedtime rolled around. (And that’s just skincare—not even makeup!) That’s why this post is perfect. I’m thisclose to figuring out a cleanser but then I’ll clamp down on the Web surfing. Maybe a cute little nail polish and yummy gorgeous lip gloss could be the perfect “something fun” for the summer.

    • Justine

      Haha! I can get so wrapped up in the Sephora site it’s insane, I find myself trying to justify 35 dollar lip balm, that’s usually when I decide it’s time to walk away, but it’s so fun to look!

  4. Katie

    THIS IS AMAZING!
    What a FAB post!
    Have you used the Clarins Self-Tanning Gel on your legs?
    P.S The illustrations are great!

  5. joanne lyons

    Yes!!! finally a site I can use……anything that will tame my hair or keep my “forever-fading” lipstick alive is for me. On my way to find the hair spray and lip stain….

  6. Jus,

    I’m so glad that I finally checked out your FAB website! So much to offer, and great art to admire all at the same time… Sign me up; PLEASE 🙂 I have to find those lip “tarts.” Where can I get them? Can’t even wait long enough for your next post!!!
    xoxoxo,
    ‘Lese

    • Justine

      Thank you! You can get the Tarte stains at Sephora, they are an exclusive there. I hope you keep reading!!

      • alison

        Essie turquoise and caicos has just been polished on my nails and I am in love.

        I too am a lover of lip stains, I have no idea how to even wear lipstick anymore. Thanks for the great summer beauty tips! I wish my hair grew in the summer like yours, I would prefer your glamorous summer puff to my golden limp locks!

        • Justine

          I want that color! Stay tuned, epic nail polish post coming soon!! Alison, you have that whole golden beach beauty thing going on OK? No complaining here, you’re gorgeous!

  7. Megan

    I just bought the Enchanted lip stain last night. You inspired me.

    • Justine

      Where did you find it? I still haven’t been able to find the Enchanted anywhere, it is always sold out! You have to let me know how it looks!

  8. Pingback: Beauty Bullseye: Sephora « beauty dart

Leave a Reply

