Miranda Kerr wants you to “Treasure Yourself”

So, if you haven’t heard, the gorgeous supermodel/Victoria’s Secret model Miranda Kerr has written a book titled “Treasure Yourself” aimed at helping give teen girls self-esteem/proper diet and nutrition. My usual response to any form of self-esteem boosting publication is “yay!” but after reading the little blurb in Elle this month about Kerr’s book I found myself getting annoyed, I knew it was wrong of me, but sometimes we get annoyed by things even before we know why.

I hate that my initial response was “ugh, seriously, she has body acceptance issues?” but unfortunately, petty person that I am, it was my first thought. Miranda Kerr seems like a lovely woman, she really does. I don’t know tons about her, only that she is dating Orlando Bloom, and is Australian, she always seems very genial and bubbly, and of course, she is perfect looking. I know that my idea of “perfect looking” might not be everyone’s, and I’m sure Kerr, like most of us, has felt uncomfortable in her body at times, but she is pretty much, unanimously gorgeous, right?

Being standardly beautiful doesn’t mean you never feel bad about yourself, or even that you can see yourself the way everyone else sees you, but I can’t help but feel like taking advice from Miranda Kerr about body confidence, is equivalent to Donald Trump telling me how to be thrifty. Crystal Renn is also a gorgeous model, however she is considered plus size, which to me denotes some sort of outsider status on her part,  I guess that is why I believe her struggle a bit more. Even though I know beautiful women can have a dysmorphic disorder, or feel just plain old unattractive, it’s quotes like this from Kerr that bother me:

“One thing I tell girls who want to break in to the industry is that there’s no such thing as ‘looking’ like a model. There are so many different shapes and sizes, and everyone has things they want to change: freckles in odd places, dimples where they might not want them, and hair where it shouldn’t be. Just remember that picture-perfect doesn’t exist — perfection is you, just the way you are.

While that is a great message, I for one as a teenager was dealing with much bigger issues than having unwanted hair and freckles. I was dealing with some serious body/beauty issues, and a model telling me that I’m perfect just the way I am only seems to emphasize the difference between myself and the ideal. The world is always telling us that we’re not perfect the way we are, so having a woman who the world consistently tells us is perfect acting as though it should be as easy for everyone else to accept themselves, just seems condescending, even though I’m sure that is not her intention. It puts a nice easy gloss over the real issues that teens, and women in general, face in terms of their bodies, rather than focusing on how individual and personal a struggle acceptance can be.

I haven’t read Kerr’s book, but I would like to when it comes out (nobody seems to have a release date yet). I find the pairing of a self-esteem book with a nutrition/diet slant counter intuitive, especially for teens. If she really wants girls to accept themselves as they are, then why have the whole “make better” aspect of the book at all? Wouldn’t it be more effective if she simply shared her own stories and feelings of self-consciousness in order to illustrate that even supermodels can feel the pressure of perfection? To me, that is the interesting point, because if a woman as outwardly beautiful as Miranda Kerr has trouble seeing herself as gorgeous, then we really are all screwed. And maybe, just hearing her talk about those feelings would be enough to help girls deal with their own self-esteem without giving them diet tips. Then maybe girls could truly accept that they are perfect, just they way they are.

6 Comments

Filed under acceptance

6 responses to “Miranda Kerr wants you to “Treasure Yourself”

  1. haren

    That’s great, you’re perfect the way you are but go on a diet and exercise??????

  2. Megan

    I take issue with the whole “you are perfect the way you are” thing. No one is perfect. Everyone has flaws. What we should be talking about is how we can all come to grips with our imperfections in a healthy and satisfying way. A much better book would talk about how we can change the things worth changing, how we can get over the things not worth changing and how we can tell the difference between the two. Maybe we all need beauty AA?

    • Justine

      Megan, I agree. I think it’s a really important thing to point out the things that ARE changeable, and those that simply are not. Very often we are led to believe that all we have to do is find the right diet or lipstick and we will all be supermodels, but then we give up and forget that there are little things we can change to make ourselves feel good, and those are different for everyone! This blog is all about beauty AA!

  3. Betty

    I don’t understand why everyone is trying to be critical about a book with such a positive message. Firstly, if absolutely no one is perfect, then wouldn’t that kind of suggest that everyone is. Secondly, Miranda is trying to say that you should love yourself no matter what but that exercise and nutrition would benefit you. Not even with trying to obtain the body image that the media has everyone crazed to find, but rather a healthy body. Even if you are larger or smaller or larger than average, proper nutrition and exercise will undoubtedly improve your self-esteem, confidence and will lead you to a happier longer life.

    • Justine

      Hi Betty, thank you so much for your comment! I absolutely agree with your statement, and as I mentioned in the post I haven’t read Miranda’s book yet so I certainly don’t mean to pass judgment on it. My main point is that while I greatly commend Miranda for putting out a book with what is unquestionably a positive, much-needed, message, I don’t necessarily think the diet and exercise tips are essential to the point she is making. While some young girls may be able to take those tips and use them to make themselves healthier and happier, others might see the message differently and in some ways I think it’s in direct opposition to what publicists and those who are marketing the book are making it out to be—is it a book about loving yourself despite flaws (which more often than not aren’t limited to weight and physical health), or is it a diet and exercise book for teens? It just seems wrong to say, “you’re perfect just the way you are—but try these great diet tips and you’ll be even better!” What about the girl who thinks her nose is too big, or her skin is too dark? What are the “tips” for her? I have very mixed feelings about these sort of books, in some ways I think they’re fantastic, but in other ways they make me pause, I’m not really sure how to feel about them, which is why I wanted to start the discussion in the first place, so I’m really grateful for your comment because what i think is most important is to talk about this stuff!

  4. Jennifer

    I think that Miranda’s message is very positive for teens, but you have to rememer, everyone has different opinions on beauty. My opinion is similar with Miranda’s-I accept that everyone has flaws. But I think that if you accept these flaws, you will find beauty within them. And Everyone (despite how imperfect they are) are perfect, which is sort of ironic. But It doesnt matter if you are a supermodel or the most average teenage girl, Everyone has imperfections and things they are insecure about. We are all equal as humans. And we need to accept our own individual beauty.

Leave a Reply

