Live a Lush Life

Have you heard of Lush? I’m assuming most of you have, it’s been around for a while, but if you haven’t heard of it you should. Let me tell you why.

Firstly I want to say I think more advertising should be done by people who genuinely like the products and are happy to promote them. I’m not saying companies should ask anyone to do this for free (although I’m about to do that right now), but if you can’t find people to promote your product who really like it and use it, then maybe it’s time to change the product.

Lush seems to understand this, they put out a great newspaper called Lush Times every season with new products and tons of reviews by real people who love the brand and are happy to talk about the products they use. They share their stories and pictures and It feels both authentic and fun, two things not seen too often in normal cosmetics promotions.

In the cosmetics world, Lush is a very unique brand. Although they don’t sell makeup, they do sell lip balms, hair products, and perfumes as well as bath products. It’s all organic and natural (like actually totally, not just labeled that way to appear “green”), has quite a selection of vegan items, and they make products that do amazing things while smelling absolutely delicious without the addition of chemicals. They also tell you exactly what is in the products they’re selling you, wild idea right?

It’s  nice that Lush doesn’t use model or celebrity endorsements or feature them in their ads, in fact they don’t seem to advertise much at all from what I can tell. They seem to function mainly on word of mouth and getting people into the stores—and it should be a lesson to other companies that if you make a good product, you don’t need to spend millions of dollars on ad campaigns.

One way that Lush cuts down on the cost of their products is by making their packaging from recycled plastic. Sometimes it’s a little wonky, but for the cost and the green factor it’s worth it. So often with cosmetics 75% of the cost goes into the packaging, so I’d rather get more product for the price anyway, although I can be a sucker for good packaging. Some of their products don’t use packaging at all, like their bath bombs.

My sister and I first stumbled on Lush when we were visiting family in Ireland in 2002, we took a day trip to Dublin and the most fun we had the whole day, aside from Dublinia! an interactive exhibit for children in the basement of Christ Church, which we played in like we were four-year olds, was discovering Lush (we made the mistake of going on a day when all the museums were closed). We could literally smell Lush from down the street, and wandered into the shop mesmerized by the colorful products and friendly staff. I think our Irish relatives thought we were crazy when we came home that night, each with a big bag of bath bombs and bubble bars, but it was exciting, we had never seen cosmetics sold in such a way before.

When we arrived home in New York, our whole suitcases, all our clothes, everything, was filled with the beautiful aroma. From then on, every time someone was going overseas we begged them to get us some Lush—I’m sure this was incredibly annoying, but we couldn’t get it in the states, so what could we do but beg? Finally after several years they opened stores across the U.S., unfortunately they don’t produce products in the states so they have to import them from Canada which drives the prices up a bit, but the cost still doesn’t touch what other cosmetics brands charge, so it’s worth it.

I’m going to run-through some of my favorite products, and if any of them appeal to you I hope you’ll check them out!

if you haven’t discovered Lush yet, or even if you have, you can find a store near you here. And if there isn’t one near you, they’re opening new shops all the time.

Let’s start with a soap that is great if you like your products earthy, scrubby, and delicious smelling. If you don’t like little bits of leaves in your soap you might not like it, but if you don’t mind bringing some nature into your shower you’ll love it.

Also a note on Lush soaps, at the stores you can get them cut into any size for you, so if you only want say a $5 piece to try, just ask them. Isn’t that nice?

Figs and Leaves Soap,$7.60 for 3.5 oz.

This is my favorite moisturizer, and it’s so much less expensive than a lot of department store creams. It smells like vanilla and cream and it is specifically made for sensitive skin which is great for me, also a little goes a very long way.

Celestial face moisturizer, $22.95 for 1.5 oz.

I’m very upset that I no longer have a bathtub because it means I can’t use Lush bubble bars anymore. I love bubble baths, and these bars create so many bubbles and leave your skin so smooth and sweet-smelling it’s perfect for the end of a stressful day. You can cut one bar up into pieces and save them so it lasts longer too, because they really do produce a lot of bubbles.

Creamy Candy Bubble Bar, $7.25 for a 3.5 oz. bar

Probably my all time favorite Lush product. If I could afford it I would put this on my hair every week. It’s one of the products my sister and I were completely hooked on as soon as we discovered Lush. It’s a hair mask, you put it on your dry hair (you need to saturate your head, I usually end up using half the container on my hair) and then leave it on for 15 minutes, or put on a shower cap to keep in the heat, and leave it on for hours. After you wash the treatment out you’re left with shiny, lovely, amazing, spicy scented hair. I love it, but I love most things that smell spicy, so if you do too, you will definitely love this. Your hair will smell like a spice market in some beautiful far-off eastern country, yum.

H’Suan Wen Hua Hair Treatment, $18.95 for 7.9 oz.

Do you like Almonds? I love almonds, I love marzipan, I love the smell of almonds, I love almond milk, and I adore this soap. The only downside is that it is so creamy it melts away fairly fast, but it leaves your skin smelling heavenly, so it’s worth it.

Alkmaar soap, $7.95 for 3.5 oz.

Since I can’t take baths anymore, I have re-discovered shower gels, and this is one of my favorites. It’s great if you shower in the morning and have trouble waking up because it has a bright, cirtus-y scent that gives you instant pep for the day.

Happy Hippy, $26.95 for 16.9 oz.

I’m a little obsessed with body powders. Especially in the summer, I cover myself in powder every-time I get out of the shower, the cloud of dust scares both my cats and my fiancé, but I wouldn’t stop it for the world. If you don’t powder I highly suggest it, I love that in yoga class once I start to sweat, instead of smelling gross, the people around me are treated to a gorgeous vanilla aroma, lucky them. I love Lush’s Silky Underwear, but I just bought this new scent and it’s making for some serious competition.

Vanilla Puff Powder, $11.95 for 3.5 oz.

I did a whole post about shampoo because I’ve been questioning my whole hair care procedure recently. So I went back and tried Lush shampoo bars again, and now I can’t remember why I ever stopped using them to begin with! They can get a little crumbly in the shower once you get near the end of them, but no more so than a bar of soap. It is amazing how much lather these things produce, I mean seriously, I had enough lather on my head for three more people, and like everything Lush, they smell spectacular (except for the soak and float bar which is for dandruff, and kind of stinky, but supposedly effective).

Karma Komba, 9.95 for 1.9 oz.

If you’re lucky enough to have a bath tub, you should definitely try one of Lush’s bath bombs. I love the Butterball which smells (obviously) buttery and creamy and has little pieces of coca butter that melt into your skin, ugh, it’s so good.

When you go into a Lush shop they will give you a bath bomb demonstration, that way you can see how it fizzes and buzzes around your bath tub, sometimes changing the water colors, or releasing sparkles, but always smelling amazing.

The next time you’re feeling romantic, or sharing a bath with someone else, I recommend trying out this bomb. It releases a whole jumble of flower petals into your bath, as well as the incredible smell of roses and lavender. You may have to clean the petals out of your drain, but who doesn’t want to bathe in rose petals?

I like to buy bath bombs (or bubble bars) just to keep them in my drawers, they make all my clothes smell incredible.

Softy, $6.25 for 6.3 oz.

Anyone else have some Lush product recommendations? I’m sure I could go on forever because I’ve sampled most of their products, so feel free to ask questions too! Happy bathing!

18 Comments

Filed under cosmetics, shopping

18 responses to “Live a Lush Life

  1. haren

    Lush body powders are the only thing to get you through those sticky, stinky, humid days. Makes you actually feel like you are dry!

  2. lizzy

    YES! i love lush!! katie just sent me a bath bomb and it made the entire room smell heavenly. i almost can’t stand to use them bc they make the room smell so good. they should make home fragrance too!

  3. lizzy

    great now i’m looking at their website. they have an online store…

  4. sara

    Oh man, I really really miss having Lush shampoo bars. The first time I used Karma Komba with a green solid conditioner (can’t remember the name and it seems to be discontinued) I thought that must be how a princess’s hair smells. Lame, I know, but it’s the first thing that popped into my head.

    I really liked their temple balm they used to sell. I had the one that was supposed to make you sleepy or something.

    I never thought of putting bath bombs in drawers, that’s a great idea!

    • Justine

      Ha! Sara, I love your thought about a princess’s hair, that is such a good endorsement, Lush should be proud to make someone feel like a princess.

      I do hate it when they discontinue things, I wish they would bring “Gentle Lentil” back to stores.

      Was the conditioner called “jungle”? My aunt was using my shower once and I had a bar of that in there and she used it as soap and didn’t like it very much. I think sometimes you have to warn people who use you bathroom if you have lush products, people who don’t know Lush get scared by them.

      • sara

        yes! it was “jungle”. it was very slippery, i can’t imagine using it as soap!
        that’s true, though. i bought my mom a bath bomb once that had seaweed or something in it and she HATED it.

  5. PJ

    I helped opened the Lush in DC back in 2004 before I moved to NYC to work at Penguin. At the end of each day, I smelled WONDERFUL from being in the store!

    • Justine

      I always think that the people who work there have very lucky significant others, they must all smell great when the get home!

  6. cecilia

    ocean salt face and body scrub. it’s the only product i preach about. in the UK (maybe they have it here too) lush has this scheme that when you return five empty containers, you get a free product. i exchanged the last round of empty ocean salt containers for the cupcake face mask, which is also amazing. how do they get it to smell exactly like cupcakes?!

    • Justine

      I love the ocean salt scrub, I just got a sample of it when I was there the other day!

      Oh man, I don’t think they do the container exchange thing here, I can’t find anything about it on their site. Maybe they don’t do it since they don’t produce anything here. Maybe if we all buy lots of products they’ll start U.S. production and then there will be more stores, lower prices, and exchangeable containers!

      I must try the cupcake mask, I just hope I don’t eat it!

      • Megan

        I think they do the exchange thing here – I have to containers on my desk with a stick that says “Bring back 5 clean black pots, and get a Fresh Face Mask Free” but the new hand cream I bought doesn’t have the sticker. I hope I haven’t been holding onto these containers for no reason…

  7. Carmela

    I LOVE Lush! Especially Happy Hippy (I live in Woodstock, so it’s very apropos!) – Their packaging is great. I was bummed b/c I bought some Happy Hippy when I was in Atlanta and they confiscated it at the airport b/c I had carryon. Ruined my trip. I love their stores.

  8. Jennifer

    There is a store in midtown near one of the concert venues that Robert frequents. I love the store, but their stuff is a guilty pleasure! I use mostly bath gels, myself.

  9. Pingback: Beat the Summer Gross « beauty dart

  10. Pingback: How to Dye | beauty dart

  11. jamie

    While I love Lush, not all their ingredients are natural, they do include chemicals such as Sodium Laureth Sulfate in their shampoos.

Leave a Reply

