Beauty Grab-Bag: Halloween #1

My back is feeling significantly better, I can sit at the computer again (at least for a little while). I’m now even more grateful for my body because I realize how much it lets me do, I will definitely be taking better care of it. So, in celebration of regaining my mobility, and also after having a hectic and upsetting couple weeks, I decided a fun post was much-needed today.

It’s that time of year again, the super markets are filled with Halloween candy and pumpkins are popping up all over the neighborhood. It’s almost Halloween and I love it, I always have and I hope I always will. October has long been my favorite month, and it’s not just because of the candy—although who doesn’t love free candy? No, Halloween is so much more than just costumes and candy, it’s magical, it’s the one day of the year where you can be anyone and anything can happen, the world loses it’s limits and fantasy reins. When Halloween comes around each year I still get the same hopefulness I did when I was a kid that something exciting and otherworldly might happen, and when it does, it might be scary, it might be creepy, but it will definitely be fun. A new universe might open up, you could meet a cute ghost (yes, I still cry whenever I watch the Christina Ricci Casper movie) or go on an adventure, or you might just run around with your friends eating candy and screaming until you drop from tiredness.

Since I love Halloween so much, and because I’ve been lucky enough to find a partner who loves Halloween (almost) as much as me, we’re getting married Halloween weekend and we’re having a big harvest party where there will be pumpkins, candy, and other fun surprises. When we first started the wedding planning I made my first ever polyvore collage as inspiration:
Harvest party weddingNow with only 22 days left until my wedding I’m both exceptionally nervous and excited, so I’m trying to focus on Halloween (I actually pulled my back out getting decorations out of my closet). This is the first of a few Halloween posts to get you (and me) excited for All Hallows Eve, I want to hear what costumes people are wearing, or what you have worn in the past, and I want everyone in on the fun! Here is another polyvore collage to get you in the spirit:

halloween spiritAlright, so my back actually does still hurt a lot so I have to end this post here and grab my ice pack again, sorry this post wasn’t more in-depth, I lost my mojo half-way through. Send me your Halloween pics, stories, and inspirations! And check in tomorrow for Beauty in the movies: She-Devil!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Beauty Grab-Bag: Halloween #1

  1. mkz201

    Your wedding collage is so pretty!

  2. haren

    It’s also a harvest holiday that celebrates abundance and you can’t have too much of a good thing!

  3. jennifer

    Of all the Halloween candies, I love candy corn. Michael Ian Black wrote an essay about candy corn. Apparently Lewis Black hates candy corn.

    I’m not a big dresser-upper, but Molly Jane is going to be a hotdog this Halloween.

  4. Kathy

    This post made me picture you, like Linus, sitting in the pumpkin patch, waiting for the Great Punpkin to appear. Ever hopeful of great or scary things to come!

  5. jessica

    LOVE these collages! http://www.littlekingjewelry.com/shopcollections.php?coll=bridal

    this is kinda cute.

    love that clutch from vivre.

Leave a Reply

