Post-Wedding Daze

Guess what? I’m married!! Huzzah!

I never thought I would be taking a break from blogging for two full weeks, but the week leading up to the wedding got so crazy hectic that posting just didn’t happen. I spent this week walking around in a total daze after returning from our little honeymoon weekend on Monday night. It took me way too long to unpack and respond to all the nice e-mails, and then there were the pictures. Between my dad’s 300 hundred plus snapshots, facebook galleries of friend’s pictures and hundreds of others from various family and friends, I’ve spent most of the week clicking through sideshows. Just when I would sit down to be productive again, I ended up going back to look—just one more time, at the best night of my life so far.

I definitely suffered from some post wedding let-down, how can you not? Our culture forces this idea in to your mind:

“this is the BEST DAY OF YOUR LIFE—ever! No seriously, you will not have as good a day for the rest of your life, it’s all down hill from here. You won’t get to have fun or be pretty again, not like this.”

Obviously that’s not true, and it runs in direct contradiction to the whole point of marriage, but that is the bill we’re sold from the beginning. Then you spend months planning every detail, and by the last few weeks everything has become saturated with wedding preparations. Finally the anticipation reaches fever pitch and you can forget about sleeping or relaxing. Once the day actually comes, it passes by faster than any other day in your entire life.

People told me it would go by fast, and I kept telling myself  “enjoy this, remember this”, but no matter how hard I tried, the whole thing ended up a beautiful, joyous, magical blur that was over in the blink of an eye leaving me with memories that feel like nothing more than the best dream I’ve ever had. All those smiling people, the people I love, the people I wish I could see more often, they were all there with me. There is definitely something heaven-like about your own wedding, it feels like a fantasy. Not only do you get to marry the person you love and commit to stay with them forever, but you get to be surrounded by all your favorite people, and wear a really nice outfit too, what more could you ask for?


You pretty much get to feel like the luckiest person in the world on your wedding day, and then it’s over and you go from being a fianceé, to a bride, to a wife in one day, and all the while you feel like exactly the same person. In some ways that’s the strangest part, all this hubbub and joy, all this talk of “crossing a threshold” and transcending, but when you get home from your honeymoon your cat is vomiting, and there is dirty laundry where you left it, and you and your new husband still dance around the kitchen singing in funny voices like idiots and you realize that you’re both the same people you always were. The only difference now is the affirmation that you have amazing, wonderful, generous, kind people all around you and that you’ve made the promise to be a goofball with your best friend for the rest of your life—and those are both truly things to be grateful for.

Forgive me for my recent lack of posts, and for not getting it together to do Beauty in the Movies this week, it will be back next week—scouts honor. I’ll share more pictures once they come back and do a more in-depth wedding post soon too!

*Special thanks to David Shazar for the great photos!!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Post-Wedding Daze

  1. congratulations to you two! how exciting. your cake is adorable and very unique. you looked fabulous! when my friends freddie and matt said they were going to a wedding last week I was so slow and didn’t realize it was yours until the other day!

  2. 'Lese

    YAY, you’re back and better than ever! Congratulations to you and your sweetheart of a huband 🙂 Your wedding day was magical for us too… what a beautiful bride, who exuded brilliance and happiness; truly! Can’t wait to see you adorable newlyweds again soon. Oh, I have to tell you since it’s so apropos now- Max (in his post-wedding haze) said: “even when James was just her boyfriend, I still felt like he was family!” Out of the mouths of babes; RIGHT?! Lots of love, hugs and kisses to you and your hubby 🙂

    • Justine

      Aww, Max is so sweet. It was so great to have you all there, and you are definitely a family that knows how to party!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!! xoxo

  3. Congratulations!!!!!!!!! I was just thinking about you and wondering where you’d disappeared to, and of course this was where.

    LOVE the orange cake. Love. And you look stunning. And I’m happy for you.

    • Justine

      Thanks Kate! In my pre-wedding craziness I never got a chance to congratulate you on your marriage—so Mazel Tov, and I wish you both so much happiness!!

  4. Congrats! Everything looks beautiful. I love your nails, dress, and cake.

    • Justine

      Thanks Sara, choosing what to do with my nails was a big decision, but I’m happy with the result—fun and “bridal” at the same time!

  5. haren

    What a beautiful wedding it was. And you have beautiful pictures and memories to keep.

  6. Beutifully said Jus! You value the importance of the marriage, not just the “wedding”!

    It was a truly wonderful day, filled with long-lasting memories!

  7. Cathy

    Congratulations Justine & James! Everything looks great. You looked beautiful. Sorry I had to miss it. All the love and luck in the world. You described the whole wedding event perfectly!

Leave a Reply

