Get Some Holiday Sparkle (On Your Nails)

Everyone goes crazy for glitter around the holidays (myself included) and Christmas is just a few days away, so it’s time to get some holiday spirit on those nails! I’m not usually a sparkly polish person, but it’s so festive, I just can’t resist during the holidays. Whether it’s chrome for New Year’s or red glitter to match your Santa suit, Christmas is the time to pull out all the stops in the polish department, load on the sparkles, paint on some holiday shine, and get ready to celebrate!


Here are my top five holiday polishes for 2010:

Orly, Dazzle

In my opinion, this is the best silver chrome polish out there. It’s so good in fact that it has been added to Orly’s permanent collection. It goes on smooth with streak-free solid coverage that really pops on all skin tones. It’s a perfect way to add some holiday shine without the glitter.

Sephora by OPI, It’s Bouquet With Me

Add some celebratory confetti with this pretty purple glitter polish. It takes a few coats, but the payoff is very pretty and festive. It’s a bit of a doozy to remove, so check out my tip about that down below.

OPI, Dear Santa

I keep this one in my collection and only take it out for the holidays. It’s an intense bright red with gold and crimson glitter, perfect for Christmas. It’s an easy way to add some holiday spirit to any outfit.

Milani, Gold Glitz

I couldn’t find anything about this glitter polish I bought at CVS last week, then I learned it’s part of a spring collection called “rockstar heavy” that is already available at some CVS locations. It’s an awesome glitter polish, really good coverage and very fine grain, not gloopy like other glitter polishes. The only problem is I wish I had bought all the colors!

OPI, Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous

After Amanda recommended it in October I made a point to check out this OPI color from the Swiss collection. It has quickly become one of my favorite new polishes, and it’s great for the holidays too. It’s a dark shimmery gray, with a bit of sparkle and a touch of chrome. It’s got just enough shine to appear festive while still remaining subtle enough to wear with anything.

(Loki loves to model)

Just for good measure, here are some other great glittery options to try out this season:

OPI Burlesque nail polishes, $8.00

Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Color Strobe Light, $2.79

Sephora Only Gold For Me Top Coat, $9.00

Orly foil FX, $7.50

Milani Nail Art with Precision Brush Purple Outline, $3.99

While glitter nail polish can be really fun for the holidays (or everyday) it can also be an absolute nightmare to remove. Any polish aficionado knows that glitter is impervious to most removers, some are worse than others, but it’ something to consider before choosing a color. The easily removed chrome polishes are an equally festive option for those who can’t handle scraping glitter off their nails. For those who love to sparkle however, there seems to be no easy option for removal.


The best method I’ve found for stubborn nail glitter removal is to coat the nail in an old thick polish you have lying around and then let it dry for a few minutes. Once the polish has almost set, cover the finger in a cotton round and push down hard on your finger with your nail as you slide the cotton over the willful glitter to get the polish off. In effect you’re scraping the polish off, but the cotton acts as a buffer and protects the nail. If you have some really adamant sparkles left on your nail, you can file the stragglers off with a regular nail file or buffer. I’m sure some manicurists wouldn’t suggest that method and it might not be a great idea if you have weak nails, but if you have strong healthy nails and are on the verge of tears as you futilely dab at resistant glitter clusters, it might just save your sanity. If anyone has found a better method, I’d love to hear it!

May you all have warm, happy, healthy holidays and nails that glitter and sparkle this season!!

5 Comments

Filed under cosmetics

5 responses to “Get Some Holiday Sparkle (On Your Nails)

  1. mkz201

    I love the Dear Santa – it is one of my favorite colors for my toes all winter. Makes me happy when I finally uncover my feet from all the layers of stockings and socks and boots.

  2. haren

    Sounds like a sparkly idea!

  3. Finally a picture that captures the Steve McQueen good looks of Loki cat! He sure works hard to get in every picture, maybe he could guest blog one day?

  4. katie

    I LOVE GLITTER NAILS!!!
    My new fav is mixing OPI for Sephora Only Gold for Me top coat and Flurry Up top coat – I love the chunky glitters!!
    Also love the pic of Loki- so cute!

  5. MaryZ

    OK, now I’m off to the stores for the last time, again, to buy new, glittery polish. Since I’m all into the Red I’m looking for Dear Santa. Didn’t have time to buy new clothes for me so new polish will have to do.

Leave a Reply

