Fight Winter Dryness

It’s Groundhog Day, and despite what that rodent in Pennsylvania says, I think we still whole lot of winter ahead of us (I know the little guy didn’t see his shadow, but have you seen it outside?). Aside from the freezing weather and the mounds of snow and ice which have moved in for good, dry skin is one of the most irritating parts of this season. Unfortunately we can’t control the weather, but we can control the dryness of our skin, amen for that.

Winter is bad enough without dealing with flaking, cracking, chapped skin. Magazines make a big deal about changing your routine, but I’ve always found that doing the same thing—and often doing less, is what helps skin stay healthy. Too bad the harsh weather and the dry air can change the way skin and hair feel, which means sometimes a change is necessary. Here are the products I find keep skin feeling like June even in the midst of bitter February.

Herbal Works Moisturizing Salt Scrubs

The shower is the best place to trap much-needed moisture on your skin—you’ll also avoid constantly slicking on goopy moisturizers later on. I’m obsessed with this scrub my mom gave me for Christmas from Herbal Works (their online store is closed at the moment, but should be back soon). I couldn’t believe how using just a small amount could completely eradicate my flaky winter skin. It also has an insanely good smell that lasts all day long. My mother is so obsessed with this scrub that she bought it in the bulk size available for spas and salons:

(Cat used for scale)

If that’s not an endorsement I don’t know what is.

Lush Massage Bars

If you prefer to moisturize after you shower, Lush massage bars are an excellent and wonderful smelling way to keep the moisture on your skin. I love Fever, which smells like jasmine and sandalwood. These bars melt in your hands, so you can rub them on yourself—or get someone to help you out (Valentines Day is just a week away!).

Aquaphor Healing Ointment


I talked about it over the summer, but this stuff is even more essential in the winter. As someone who has often found themselves out in the winter chill without a good pair of gloves, I know the only thing to cure my cracked, irritated hands is Aquaphor. If skin gets to the point of bleeding, angry, discomfort, regular moisturizers will do nothing, you need Aquaphor.

Nivea Lip Balms

I’ve tried a lot of lip balms in my day, and nothing goes on smoother and moisturizes more than Nivea lip balms. They’re an affordable essential that can repair even the most chapped winter lips.

Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream

Cetaphil is a drugstore classic, it’s an alternative to more expensive skin moisturizers and great for sensitive skin. In the winter when we need moisture more than ever, so the bargain price tag is especially appreciated. No need to deprive your skin and ration out expensive creams, Cetaphil gets the job done at a quarter of the cost.

Burt’s Bees Avocado Hair Treatment

Winter means dry hair, which if you fall prey to frizz, is actually a good thing, but shiny hair needs moisture and in the winter that can require some work. Wet your hair first, and then brush in some Burt’s Bees Pre-Shampoo Hair Treatment, leave it on for five minutes or a whole afternoon, when you finally shampoo you will find yourself with a shiny head of frizz-free hair.

Happy Groundhog day everyone—if you wake up to another ice storm tomorrow morning I hope you eventually find your way out of the time loop!

6 Comments

Filed under cosmetics, shopping

6 responses to “Fight Winter Dryness

  1. mkz201

    Where are your gloves?!?!?

    I wish I had more time to sit around with moisturizing things on my hair and hands. Instead I just remain itchy and frizzed. Sigh.

  2. haren

    I hope Herbal Works isn’t gone forever. They have the best stuff. And Megan who would notice if you had your hair slicked back with conditioner and up in a bun. they would just think you had a shiny new look.

  3. jennifer

    I love the movie Groundhog Day. I think the idea that you live the same day over and over until you find true love is very profound.

  4. lizzy

    hmmmm, burts bees hair treatment! thats a good idea! fyi i’m getting the brazilian hair treatment again next month i think. i hate to tell you, but my problem is less cold and more psychotic humidity!

  5. haren

    People living in Florida are not allowed to complain about the weather to us northerners this winter!

  6. corrie

    I have to try that Burt’s Bees hair stuff!

    My face normally gets extremely dry in the winter, but I’ve started using burt’s bees day cream in the morning, and PC Puritas night cream before bed. It works wonderfully, and my skin feels dewy.

    As for the rest of me, I actually stopped using body lotion altogether, and my skin feels great. Though, I also stopped shaving my legs (just for the winter), and that’s helped a ton.

Leave a Reply

