Winter Survival

Last week I wrote about how to stay moisturized in dry, freezing weather, but keeping in moisture is just one small part of winter survival. As the harshest of seasons, winter wreaks havoc with our bodies, our hair, and our emotions. As much as I’d love to break out the floral prints and pastels, we still have quite a bit of winter to get through, so here’s a few things that I’ve found help me make it through until the trees bud again.

Lush Lip Scrub

One of my absolute new favorite things is a product I didn’t even know I needed until my sister was nice enough to gift it to me. Balm will only help so much when you have flaky, cracked, winter lips, but this stuff will scrub and smooth, plus it’s so delicious (and all natural) you’ll want to eat the whole tub!

Static Guard

I’ve always had trouble with static-y hair in the winter, I’ve tried a bunch of different products, but I always end up returning to regular old Static Guard—it doesn’t smell great, but spray a little on your hair brush and you’ll zap way more static than most of the fancy hair products ever do.

A Puffy-Coat

I know there are people who don’t want to sacrifice fashion for warmth, or who don’t enjoy feeling like they’re wearing a sleeping bag, but after many years of wearing wool coats over layers upon layer, my first down coat felt like warm, fluffy, lightweight heaven. You can catch great sales on these babies this time of year, and you’ll definitely be thankful for your investment for many winters to come.

Wool Socks

Like the puffy-coat, the wool sock (though certainly not high-fashion) is an essential for winter warmth. Nothing feels worse than cold toes on a freezing day, especially when there is such an easy solution.

Netflix Subscription

I’ve never been more grateful for my Netflix subscription as on days when there is more than a foot of snow outside. If your car is buried, or your street hasn’t been plowed, having a good movie to watch can be your saving grace—and if you can stream it to your television, you won’t even care that you can’t leave your house!

What are you guys doing to survive the Winter?

6 Comments

Filed under shopping

6 responses to “Winter Survival

  1. mkz201

    Your welcome!

  2. haren

    Warm pajamas, slippers and a fleece bathrobe when you’re home and Ugg type boots or clogs when you must go out!

  3. 'Lese

    UGH, freezing, bitter, cold 😦 UGGS, YES!!! Right-on, Sis… slippers, boots, clogs, whatever warms my little footsies! For my lips, I’ve been going through tubes and tubes of Burt’s Beeswax (I love the Pomengranate; hey, did I spell it right since this became the grammar board now, LOL). Where can I get the Lush scrub?

  4. Sarah

    Gotta have my soft PJs and blanket for cuddling on the couch, big fluffy scarves, a fun mug for making hot chocolate that much better, and lots of baking!

Leave a Reply

