Mom

Since it’s Mother’s Day, I just had to take a moment out today and say a few words about my mom. She is a very special lady. She has taught me a great many things, from how to write a check to how to bake a pie. She taught me that I could do anything, be anything, create anything, as long as I put my mind to it.

mom_3

She has always given me the best advice, and then offered me help when I didn’t take it. She’s a tough cookie, a dedicated teacher, a great friend, a beautiful woman, and as of this year a cancer survivor.

momma

We show our true mettle in the face of fear, and this past winter my family and I witnessed how tough my mom could really be. It was a long, dark, hard winter with a lot of sadness and pain. Cancer, it really F*ing sucks. But, just when the trees started budding in early April, her first fuzz of hair started growing back on her head. She was right in tune with mother earth, coming back to life again. It had been hellish watching her in pain and feeling helpless as she suffered all winter, but watching her rejuvenation this spring has been utterly beautiful. It makes this Mother’s Day extra special, because I am extra thankful and extra proud to have her as my mom. So to her, and to all you tough, beautiful mommas (and mommas to be) out there — Happy Mother’s Day! xoxox

mom_mothers_day

3 Comments

Filed under advice, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Mom

  1. Haren

    Thank you. I am truly touched and so lucky to have you and Megan and da to see me through this.

  2. jennifer

    I am a fan of your mom too.

  3. 'Lese

    What a beautiful tribute to an AMAZING woman, who just keeps going strong… a teacher to all of us! {Teardrop}

Leave a Reply

